Skip to main content
The Armorial Bearings of the County Council of Powys

Prints Available

In 1974 a re-organisation of the counties of Wales took place and numerous counties were amalgamated into larger units and renamed. One of these was Powys which was made up of the former counties of Montgomeryshire, Radnorshire and Brecknock (Breconshire). 

The new Armorial Bearings for Powys County Council were granted on 2 March 1984.

Blazon: The Shield: Per chevron bevilled Or and Sable three Fountains proper.

The Crest: Within a Wreath Or and Sable rising from a Tower Sable masoned Argent a Red Kite Or semee of Lozenges Sable grasping in its talons a Fleece Or.

Mantling: Sable doubled Or

Motto: Welsh: Powys Paradwys Cymru - Powys, Paradise of Wales.

The History: The Black Mountains and mining are represented by the base element of the Arms with the fountains alluding to the rivers and waterways and are three in number to symbolise the three former counties that formed the new county of Powys in 1974.

The red kite and black diamonds refer to the local wildlife and mining whilst the tower is an indication of the castles and military connections of the area. The fleece represents the woollen industry.